Archives for posts with tag: J. Dyer Ball

Mais dois “slides” digitalizados da colecção  “MACAU COLOR SLIDES  – KODAK EASTMAN COLOR)”comprado em finais da década de 60 (século XX), se não me engano , na Foto PRINCESA (1)

O Largo do Senado já sem a estátua do Coronel Nicolau Mesquita (após 1966)

O Largo Senado começa na Avenida de Almeida Ribeiro, em frente do edifício do antigo Paços do Concelho (Leal Senado) e termina no Largo de S. Domingos, junto da Travessa de S. Domingos.

Avenida Almeida Ribeiro cruzamento com a Avenida da Praia Grande e um bocado da Avenida do Infante D. Henrique

“Of late years Macao after a period of stagnation has been much improved by new roads laid out over the Campo and about the hills. A grand new avenue to cost $ 300,000 and to lead in direct line from the Inner Harbour opposite the Steamboat Company’s wharf to the Praya Grande, was mooted some years since; but the money has been spent on other improvements.”
BALL, J. Dyer – Macao: the Holy City,  the Gem of the Orient Earth, 1905.

Em 2 de Setembro de 1913 foi designada pelo nome de «Avenida Almeida Ribeiro», a nova Avenida do Bazar. A parte, a poente do Largo do Senado foi inaugurada em 1915. O último troço, a parte que ligou à Praia Grande, só teve o projecto aprovado em 16-10-1918, pelo que só posteriormente é que foi construída, após demolições do pavilhão que existia em frente ao Leal Senado e da casa do rico comerciante Lin Lian (então situada no cruzamento da Av. de Almeida Ribeiro com a Rua da Praia) e expropriações de vários prédios (por 77. 360 patacas; P. P. 82) do Largo de Senado, Travessa do Roquete, Rua da Sé e Pátio da Sé (aprovado por P.P.18 de 23-01-1919).
GOMES, Luís G. – Efemérides da História de Macau, 1954
SILVA, Beatriz Basto da – Cronologia da História de Macau, Volume 4, 1997).
TEIXEIRA, Pe M. – Toponímia de Macau, 1997
(1) Ver anteriores slides desta colecção em
https://nenotavaiconta.wordpress.com/category/artes/

Continuação na apresentação dos conjuntos referidos em (1): «Conjunto de 6 chávenas + pires de café – património histórico de Macau». Hoje, o referente ao «Pagode de Kun Iam”

copos-e-pires-de-cafe-pagode-kun-iam-iCopo – «Pagode de Kun Iam», na embalagem de esferovite, com plástico
copos-e-pires-de-cafe-pagode-kun-iam-iiCopo de forma cilíndrica: 5 cm de diâmetro e 5,2 cm de altura
(asa lateral: 2 cm)
copos-e-pires-de-cafe-pagode-kun-iam-iiiPires – diâmetro 12, 5 cm
(base: 7, 5 cm)

THE MONGHA TEMPLEThis is a historically interesting spot, as here the first treaty between the United States and China was signed on  the 3rd of July 1844; and also here in 1849 the head and  arm of Governor Amaral were hidden in ashes, after he had  been massacred at the Barrier by the Chinese. This temple  H at a little distance along the lane that is at the back of  the New Protestant Cemetery. It has a blank wall at each side. Entering the garden, one finds oneself in a large open space, behind which are the several buildings composing the temple. In these buildings are to be found the Three  Precious Buddhas, a goddess riding on an elephant and other idols. Chinese frescoes, some in relief, adorn the place:one of them representing The Fat Buddha with a pack of boys playing with and teasing him, though such a god, the personification of good-nature, is evidently too good-natured to be teased. A garden is attached to the place, and in it there is some curiously ornamented tiling, the figures, &c., being in high relief; but which is, however in rather a dilapidated condition.”
(Retirado de “Macao, The Holy City; The Gem of the Orient Earth, de J. Dyer Ball, 1905, 83 p.)
copos-e-pires-de-cafe-pagode-kun-iam-iv(1)  https://nenotavaiconta.wordpress.com/2017/01/04/conjunto-de-6-chavenas-pires-de-cafe-patrimonio-historico-de-macau/

Foi em 2 de Setembro de 1913, designada pelo nome de «Avenida Almeida Ribeiro» (1) a nova Avenida do Bazar (2). De facto, a Avenida foi feita e aberta por partes. O último troço, a ligação da já designada Av.  Almeida Ribeiro à Praia Grande, só teve o projecto aprovado em 16-10-1918, pelo Conselho Técnico das Obras Públicas,  pelo que só posteriormente é que foi construída e concluída, em 1919 (?) (3) (4)

POSTAL 1986 Av. Almeida RibeiroPOSTAL –  AVENIDA ALMEIDA RIBEIRO – 1986
Copyright Dept. of Tourism (D. S. T.) MACAU – 5000 – 86 – 12
Impresso na Gráfica de Macau Lda.

NOTA: Já em 1905 J. Dyer Ball (“Macao: the Holy City,  the Gem of the Orient Earth”) (5)  referia ao projecto da construção desta “avenida”
Of late years Macao after a period of stagnation has been much improved by new roads laid out over the Campo and about the hills. A grand new avenue to cost $ 300,000 and to lead in direct line from the Inner Harbour opposite the Steamboat Company’s wharf to the Praya Grande, was mooted some years since; but the money has been spent on other improvements.

POSTAL 1986 Av. Almeida Ribeiro by nightPOSTAL –  AVENIDA ALMEIDA RIBEIRO BY NIGHT- 1986
Copyright Dept. of Tourism (D. S. T.) MACAU – 5000 – 86 – 12
Impresso na Gráfica de Macau Lda.

(1) “Porque tem esse nome? Pura e simplesmente porque esse homem (Artur Rodrigues de Almeida Ribeiro), quando ministro das colónias (1913-1914) sancionou a verba para a expropriação  das casas para a abertura da avenida. Apenas isto: uma penada autorizando uma verba  (TEIXEIRA, P. Manuel – Toponímia de Macau, Vol. II, 1997).
(2) Arquivo Histórico de MacauF. A. C. P. n.º 329 – S-N.
O Padre Teixeira dá a inauguração em 1915 na parte a poente do Largo do Senado. Nesse mesmo ano, a 7 de Abril de 1915, já havia um projecto de iluminação eléctrica para a Avenida.
(3) SILVA, Beatriz Basto da – Cronologia da História de Macau, Vol. 4, 1997.
(4) “1918 – Mais um troço da Avenida de Almeida Ribeiro rasgado. Para tanto, foi demolido um pavilhão que existia em frente ao Leal Senado e a casa do rico comerciante Lin Lian, então situada no cruzamento da Av. de Almeida Ribeiro com a Rua da Praia Grande. (GOMES, Luís G. – Efemérides da História de Macau, 1954.)
23-01-1919 – Aprovado por P.P.18, desta data, o projecto de expropriação para conclusão da Av. Almeida Ribeiro e a sua ligação com a Praia Grande (77 360 patacas; P.P. 82). Expropriação de vários prédios do Largo de Senado, Travessa do Roquete, Rua da Sé e Pátio da Sé, zona sensível, cenário dos primeiros tempos de Macau” (Arquivo Histórico de Macau F. A. C. P. n.º 172 – S-E).
(5) http://www.archive.org/stream/macaoholycitygem00ballrich/macaoholycitygem00ballrich_djvu.txt
Referências anteriores desta Avenida:
https://nenotavaiconta.wordpress.com/tag/avenida-almeida-ribeiro/

Continuação da publicação das fotografias deste pequeno álbum (1)

“SOUVENIR DE MACAU”

Souvenir de Macau 1910 Guia e o Farol“A MONTANHA DA GUIA E O FAROL” (à esquerda, em primeiro plano, a casa “Silva Mendes”)

“THE GUIA FORT

The Guia Fort is one of the most conspicuous objects in a landscape whore nearly very thing seeins conspicuous. lt crowns the Guia Hill and is approached by a zig-zag path from the Gap. Within its enclosures is an old chapel, containing old graves and opened once a year when a proces sion ascends to it. The lighthouse is also within the walls of this fort, The light is a revolving one going by clock- work, the works being wound up by two convicts, who have a cell for their incarceraton within the fort. The Guia Fort was built in A. D. 1637 and the lighthouse in 1865.There is a small chapel in the Guia Fort the ermida da nossa senhora da Guia, or Neves.”(2)

 O Farol da Guia foi custeada pela comunidade estrangeira de Macau tendo à testa o comerciante H. D. Margesson que tinha a sua firma na Rua Central n.º 17. Construído sob a direcção do governador José Rodrigues Coelho do Amaral, sendo o hábil macaense, Carlos Vicente da Rocha, o autor do engenhoso maquinismo que funcionava com um candeeiro de petróleo e acendeu-se pela primeira vez a 24 de Setembro de 1865. (3)

Souvenir de Macau 1910 Praia da Guia“PRAIA DA GUIA” (em primeiro plano, a rua empedrada que dava acesso ao Hospital Militar Sam Januário)

Ampliação Mapa 1921 -Tellurologie et ClimatologieAmpliação do mapa de 1921, anteriormente publicado (4)
Localização da Praia da Guia (C)
Outros pontos de referência no mapa: n.º 19 – Fortaleza de S. Paulo do Monte; n.º 20 – Jardim de S. Francisco; n.º 21 – Grémio Militar; n.º 22- Quartel de S. Francisco;
n.º 23: Observatório Meteorológico; n.º 24 – Farol/Fortaleza da Guia;
n.º 25: reservatório de água n.º 26: Jardim da Flora;
n.º 27: Quartel e Monumento da Vitória;
n.º 29 – Monumento e Avenida de Vasco da Gama; n.º 30 – Cemitério de S. Miguel;
n.º 31 – Cemitério dos Parses.

(1) https://nenotavaiconta.wordpress.com/category/artes/
(2) BALL, J. Dyer – Macao the Holy City: the gem of the Orient Earth.1905.
(3) TEIXEIRA, P. Manuel – Toponímia de Macau, Vol I, 1997.
(4) https://nenotavaiconta.wordpress.com/2015/06/01/leitura-tellurolo-gie-et-climatolo-gie-medicales-de-macao/

Continuação da publicação das fotografias deste pequeno álbum (1)

“SOUVENIR DE MACAU” 

Souvenir de Macau 1910 Estrada do Hospital MilitarESTRADA DO HOSPITAL MILITAR

 “Military Hospital
From forts it is an easy transition to the Military Hospital of San Janario, which, erected in 1873, is built on a most commanding and healthy site fronting the sea. It is on the slope of the hill, just below the old fort of San Joao and just above the San Francisco Barracks, being one of the first objects that the visitor to Macao sees from the deck of the steamer. It is named after the Viscount S. Januario, a former Governor of the Colony, during whose term of office it was built, the former military hospital being in the old Convent of San Augustino. The site was that of an old gunpowder manufactory. The model for the construction of the building was the Hospital of San Raphael in Belgium.
It cost $38, 500, and covers 75 metres by 34. The building consists of a main body facing the sea with several wings running back from it. In the front are the Entrance Hall, the porter’s Lodge, the Quarters for the Chief Hospital Attendant and his Assistant, and the stairs to the Secretary’s Office in the upper story. In the Northeast part there are apartments for the Physician, the Chaplain, a room containing surgical instruments, the Dispensary, and the ChapeL while in the South-west portion of the building there are Quarters for the Officers, Bath-rooms, and the Linen Stores. The upper storey contains the Committee Room, Secretary’s Office, and the Director’s Office. The wings contain Surgical and other wards for Sergeants and Reserved Ward, Accountant’s Quarters, and a Hall for Surgical Operations, Cells, and Quarters for Military Servants.
The Mortuary, Room for Post Mortem Examinations and Room for the Collection of Soiled Linen are in a separate building some four or five metres distant from the main building and still further distant in the same direction is the Guard House. There is a garden to the South-west for the use of convalescents and there is also a tower for an Observatory. (2)

Souvenir de Macau 1910 Hospital MilitarO HOSPITAL MILITAR

 Tivemos ocasião de observar o inteligente aproveitamento das ruínas da muralha, para consolidar os vastos taludes que limitam a esplanada e as suas estradas que circundam o outeiro. Estes taludes também estão recobertos por uma vegetação própria para dar coesão às terras, e cortados por sulcos convenientemente dispostos para o escoamento das águas, de modo que a perfeição da obra não tem nada a temer da impetuosidade das chuvas. Do alto da esplanada descobre-se uma das vistas mais extensas e formosas de que é possível gozar em Macau” (3)
(1) https://nenotavaiconta.wordpress.com/category/artes/
(2) BALL, J. Dyer – Macao: the Holy City,  the Gem of the Orient Earth, 1905
(3) Parte do artigo de Henrique Carvalho na Gazetta de Macau e Timor in TEIXEIRA, P. Manuel – Toponímia de Macau, Vol II, 1997.

Continuação da publicação das fotografias deste pequeno álbum (1)

“SOUVENIR DE MACAU” 

Souvenir de Macau 1910 Rua de S. Lourenço IRUA DE S. LOURENÇO

(à direita, as escadas para a Igreja de S. Lourenço e o poço que foi entulhado; à esquerda, o Instituto Salesiano)

“ST LAWRENCE
The next largest district in the City is called Bairo de St. Lourenco. This church of San Lourenco, it is stated, may have been rebuilt in A. D. 1618. and within the last few years again as the roof fell in a few years ago. It is a large church, with broad stone steps leading up to it, being on a higher level than the road below. A picture of the saint is behind the high altar with a crown and dove descending from heaven on him. Two madonnas, with swords sticking in their breasts, and other images and altars abound. There are two towers to it: one containing a clock and the other a peel of three bells.” (2)

“A data de 1618 foi dada em primeira mão por Ljungsted mas há um documento de 1576, que diz que S. Lourenço era já igreja paroquial nesse ano e, portanto antes de Filipe II (de Espanha que viria a ser Filipe I em Portugal em 1580) (3)

Souvenir de Macau 1910 Rua de S. Lourenço IIRUA DE S. LOURENÇO
(à esquerda, o muro da Igreja de S. Lourenço e o poço)

A Rua de S. Lourenço começa na Rua da Imprensa Nacional, ao lado da Rua da Prata, contorna a Igreja e a residência paroquial de S. Lourenço e vai terminar na Rua Central ao cimo da Travessa do Paiva.
A Rua de S. Lourenço tomou o seu nome da Igreja de S. Lourenço que ali fica. Os chineses chama-lhe Fong Son T’ ong Kai (Rua da Igreja do Vento Favorável)” (3)
(1) https://nenotavaiconta.wordpress.com/?s=souvenir+de+macau   
(2) BALL, J. Dyer – Macao: the Holy City,  the Gem of the Orient Earth, 1905.
(3) TEIXEIRA, P. Manuel – Toponímia de Macau, Vol. I, 1997.
Referências anteriores à Igreja de S. Lourenço, ver em:
https://nenotavaiconta.wordpress.com/tag/igreja-de-s-lourenco/

Continuação da publicação das fotografias deste pequeno álbum (1) (2)

“SOUVENIR DE MACAU”

com as legendas originais, nenhuma das duas, “bem legendadas”

Souvenir de Macau 1910 Um aspecto da Gruta de CamõesUM ASPECTO DA GRUTA DE CAMÕES
(entrada do jardim, «Casa Gardens»)

“It is situated in the Casa Gardens which are entered by a gateway in the corner of the Plaza de Camoens. On entering, a small garden is seen in front of a large house; but hearing off to the right instead of going to the house and descending some steps one enters a large garden with many broad paths leading in different directions under umbrageous trees, while many ferns grow in the rocks, great masses of which are piled about in certain parts in nature’s wild confusion. The garden until recently was private property but a few years sime the Portuguese Government bought it from its owner for $35,000. Since its purchase a hand-stand has been erected and a fountain put up, the paths ivoemented (though they still retain their slipperyness as in other days) and ornamental walks and vases and borders made at certain places of little cubes or chips of white and red stone which have a somewhat bright and pleasing effect. 

Souvenir de Macau 1910 Praça de CamõesPRAÇA DE CAMÕES
(interior do jardim de Camões)

Fortunately the Government has had the good taste not to carry this ornamentation to too great an extent and many parts of the garden are delicious in their wild condition. In one on two places, especially in one corner of the garden, gigantic boulders are piled one on the top of the other and a banian is perched on the topmost, while it sends its roots down in a perfect network over the masses of rocks on their way to mother earth, for the sustenance which the unique position of the tree prevents it from absorbing otherwise.
On one of the mass of rocks thrown together in wild confusion was a small terrace where one might sit and view the landscape o’er. A flight of steps led up to it; but it has now been removed. A circular building with a slit through its roof at one side of the garden overlooking Inner Harbour will also attract attention. It was built for Laperouse and in it the scientific officers of his squadron, the Astrolabe and Boussole, made astronomical observations during the stay of those vessels in the Taipa in January 1787.” (3)

(1) https://nenotavaiconta.wordpress.com/2015/04/29/macau-de-1910-souvenir-de-macau-i/
(2) https://nenotavaiconta.wordpress.com/2015/05/01/macau-de-1910-souvenir-de-macau-ii/
(3) BALL, J. Dyer – Macao: the Holy City,  the Gem of the Orient Earth, 1905

Continuação da publicação das fotografias deste pequeno álbum (1)

“SOUVENIR DE MACAU” 

Souvenir de Macau 1910 Praia GrandePRAIA GRANDE

“One of the most enchanting scenes in Macao is that of this beautiful bay, quiet and graceful sweep of sea wall and rows of houses rising up the gentle slopes and the ancient forts and modern public buildings dotted here and there, while behind all rise the Mountains of Lappa and to the right those beyond the Barrier. All descriptions are imperfect; some fail from an attempt to liken this beautiful little gem with another world-renowned spot, the Bay of Naples.” (2)

Souvenir de Macau 1910 Palácio das RepartiçõesO PALÁCIO DAS REPARTIÇÕES

“About the centre of the Praya Grande is situated the building now occupied as Government Offices. It is one of the finest and largest buildings on the Praya Grande; and was for many years the residence of the Governors. Sr. Roza transferred his gubernatorial dwelling to the fine Cercal Palace, further along, which is now the Government House of Macao; and the Judicial Department and that of the Junta de Tazenda were moved into the former head-quarters of the Governor. As sufficient space room for the department of the Procurator of Chinese Affairs was found in this same building, it was moved from its old office, a house belonging to the old convent of Santa Clara.” (2)

 Souvenir de Macau 1910 Palácio do GovernoO PALÁCIO DO GOVERNO

“The Governor’s town residence is on the Praya Grande and is a fine building. One of the most striking features about the public buildings in Macao is the clean state in which they are kept, affording often a striking contrast to those in Hongkong: it is a pleasure to the eye to rest on the former. The Chinese even note the difference and animadvert on those in Hongkong. This building was bought from the Baron do Cercal” (2)
(1)  https://nenotavaiconta.wordpress.com/2015/04/29/macau-de-1910-souvenir-de-macau-i/ 
(2) BALL, J. Dyer – Macao: the Holy City,  the Gem of the Orient Earth, 1905.

Souvenir de Macau 1910 CAPAPequeno álbum de fotografias de J. Arnold (dimensões da capa: 18,5 cm x 12,5 cm; 25 folhas), contendo 24 fotografias de Macau (dimensões: 14,5 cm x 9 cm), da década de 10 do século XX, com legendas em português.

Souvenir de Macau 1910 1.ª páginaFoi publicado em 1921 pela gráfica “HOOD & Co. LTD., Engravers and Printers, MIDDLESBROUGH, ENGLAND”

Souvenir de Macau 1910 Panorama de MacauPANORAMA DE MACAU

 Muitas das fotografias deste álbum são já conhecidas pois foram reproduzidas em muitas publicações quer em revistas/jornais quer em livros.
NOTA: John Arnold é autor de A Handbook to Canton, Macao and the West River, revised and re-witten (Hong Kong: Hong Kong, Canton and Macao Steamboat Co., Ltd, etc, 1910) e de A Day in Macao wiih a Camera, Scenery on the West River com fotos tiradas em Fevereiro de 1910.
Muito possivelmente foram tiradas, como em Hong Kong, com uma camera construída por Messes J. A. Sinclair & Co. Ltd, London.
É autor de dois livros com fotografias de Hong Kong que podem ser vistos em:
“Through Hong Kong with a camera : some photographs of picturesque scenery and other views in Hong Kong”, by J. Arnold. Middlesbrough, England,Hood & Co., 1910.
http://ebooks.lib.hku.hk/archive/files/3c66345ba7948c688d9289f7c42d0b58.pdf
“Picturesque Hong Kong: a handbook for travellers / illustrated with original and copyrighted photographs by J. Arnold.” Hong Kong,  Tillotson & Sons, 1911.
http://ebook.lib.hku.hk/CADAL/B38633735.pdf
No “website” do Arquivo Histórico de Macau, (1), acerca destas fotografias, encontramos oito delas, com esta explicação:
UM DIA EM MACAU COM MÁQUINA FOTOGRÁFICA
Este pequeno livro da biblioteca de Luís Gonzaga Gomes revela-nos, através da lente de um fotógrafo, a Macau de 1910. Imagens de há cem anos que nos fazem recuar a um Macau pacato, de vias quase desérticas e de um céu límpido: a marginal da Praia Grande; o descarregar do peixe nos portos interior e exterior; a Avenida Vasco da Gama ladeada de árvores, e a Estrada da Bela Vista, ambas desertas; as serenas Ruínas de S. Paulo, os tranquilos Templo de A-Ma e Jardim de Camões. Macau, tal como era antes do desenvolvimento e prosperidade que trariam mais tráfico e turistas à cidade.
Das 8 fotos digitalizadas pelo Arquivo Histórico, as seis primeiras (legendadas em inglês) estão presentes neste meu pequeno álbum, embora as legendas dos lugares, em português, não coincidam com as legendas inglesas.

Souvenir de Macau 1910 Praya Grande “Praya Grande”

 “A view of Macao from the sea is exquisitely fine. The semicircular appearance of the shore, which is unencumbered and unbroken by wharfs or piers [there are one or two small landing places projecting] and upon which the surge in continually breaking and receding in waves of foam, whereon the sun glitters in thousands of sparling beams, presents a scene of incomparable beauty. The Parade [Praia Grande] which is faced with an embankment of stone, fronts the sea and is about half a mile in length. A row of houses of a large description extends along its length, Home are coloured pink, some pale yellow and others whit.e The houses, with their large windows extending to the ground with curtains,  convey an idea to the visitor that he has entered a European rather than an Asiatic seaport. ” (Macao: the Holy City,  the Gem of the Orient Earth, by J. Dyer Ball, 1905).

Souvenir de Macau 1910 Entrance to the Barra Temple“Entrance to the Barra Temple”

“The temple near the inner harbour is remarkable for its situation. A mass of gigantic boulders are heaped together by Nature in chaotic confusion and at their feet are the main buildings of the temple while stone steps lead up amongst the masses of the rock, amidst which here and there, are perched different buildings and shrines. Inscriptions are cut in the rocks, and stone seats are placed on the little terraces, which occupy every coin of advantage, grudgingly granted by the great granite boulders.” (Macao: the Holy City,  the Gem of the Orient Earth, by J. Dyer Ball, 1905.)

Souvenir de Macau 1910 Inner Harbour“Fishing Fleet Inner Harbour”

“Unfortunately the outer Harbour on which the Praya Grande faces is shallow and any large vessels which may call at Macao have to lie some miles from the shore in the offing. The Inner Harbour lying between the Peninsula and the Island of Lappa affords a secure harbour, but, unfortunately it has been silting up with mud for many years past. Of late years, however, a dredger has improved matters. The Praya on the Inner Harbour presents a great contrast to the other Praya for whereas quiet reigns on the seaward one, the inland one is all bustle; rows of Chinese vessels are anchored off the shore and boats and sampans line the banks on which coolies are busy loading or unloading cargo to carry into the stores, shops, and wholesale Chinese merchants’ places of business on this Menduia Praya or into the back streets.” (Macao: the Holy City,  the Gem of the Orient Earth, by J. Dyer Ball, 1905)

Souvenir de Macau 1910 Ruin S. Paulo Cathedral “Ruin of San Paulo Cathedral”

 Descrição do frontispício da antiga catedral de S. Paulo por J.. Dyer Ball, ver em:
https://nenotavaiconta.wordpress.com/2014/03/27/pintura-de-macau-de-1831-1832-vi-ruinas-de-s-paulo/

Souvenir de Macau 1910 Villa Leitão View from Road Below the Guia Lighthouse

 Esta foto é conhecida por apresentar a Villa ou Chácara Leitao (2) que ficava à beira mar no Porto Exterior, na encosta onde hoje está o Cemitério dos Parses e o começo da antiga Estrada de Solidão (desde 1869, Estrada de Cacilhas), que torneia a fortaleza da Guia pelo lado do mar. Termina na antiga praia de Cacilhas.
Curiosamente a legenda em português, está “Estrada da Bella Vista” (levando por isso certos autores a atribuírem esta foto, à actual Avenida da República na zona do Hotel Bela/Boa Vista) mas a Estrada com esse nome existe, não no sítio da foto mas na estrada que circunda a Montanha Russa junto à Estrada de D. Maria II portanto perto da antiga praia de Cacilhas (hoje reservatório) e da Colina D. Maria II:
“Tem este nome Macau Seac (Má-Káu-Seak 馬交石)(3),a via pública designada actualmente por Avenida do Almirante Magalhães Correia, via esta que começa na Estrada da Areia Preta  e termina na Rua dos Pescadores. Teve também a mesma designação, em época anterior, uma via pública que começava na Estrada da Bela Vista e terminava na Estrada de D. Maria II”. (4)
Em 1858, Osmund Cleverly comprou uma propriedade chamada «Jardim do Carneiro» e também «Bela Vista», fora das muralhas da cidade para o novo Cemitério Protestante, que fica na Estrada de Ferreira do Amaral” (4)

Souvenir de Macau 1910 Avenida Vasco da GamaEntrance to the Avenida Vasco da Gama.

 Creio que o a legenda correcta é “Rua do Campo” pois esta estava ladeada de árvores e casas já no ano de 1910.
Recorda-se que na entrada da Avenida «Vasco da Gama», em 1911 (31 de Janeiro) foi inaugurado o busto de Vasco da Gama e ainda nesse ano de 1911 existia um Coreto. A abertura de novas ruas através da propriedade denominada «San Fá Un», Jardim de Vasco da Gama foi só em 1928. (5)
As duas últimas fotos do Arquivo, legendadas como “ Scenes on the quays, inner harbour”, não constam deste meu álbum.Souvenir de Macau 1910 Scenes of Inner Harbour(1)  http://www.archives.gov.mo/pt/featured/detail.aspx?id=15
(2) Ver em https://nenotavaiconta.wordpress.com/tag/chacara-leitao/
(3)  https://nenotavaiconta.wordpress.com/tag/rua-de-ma-kau-seak/
(4) TEIXEIRA, P. Manuel – Toponímia de Macau Volume I
(5) “31-03-1928 – Expropriação de vários prédios e faixas de terreno para alargamento das ruas Central e Entena, e para a abertura de novas ruas através da propriedade denominada «San Fá Un» (Jardim de Vasco da Gama)”
SILVA, Beatriz Basto da – Cronologia da História de Macau, Volume 4.

ACTUALIZAÇÃO EM 15-03-2016: o nome do autor estava errado, por isso corrijo-o hoje. J. Arnold é John Arnold. Peço desculpas a todos pelo erro. Ao João Botas, muito obrigado por me ter alertado para esse facto.

Outro desenho do álbum da colecção Duarte de Sousa (1), presente no livro “Macau, Cidade do Nome de Deus na China” (2).

Macau Cidade do Nome de Deus na China Ruínas S. PauloSt. Paulo Church. Macao. The most ancient in the Place. 400 years.
A Igreja de São Paulo, Macau. A mais antiga no território. 400 anos.

“One of the most imposing structures in Macao is the ruined facade of the Jesuit Church of San Paulo which is visible from almost every point of the compass. The church was burnt on January 26th or 27th 1834 (or 1835?). (3) A private manuscript states that Francis Peres and a few Jesuits in 1565 had a house in Macao where those of their Society used to lodge on way via Macao to Japan. The church which was erected by the Jesuits on their arrival in this part of China was accidentally destroyed by fire and was a noble building, – noble indeed it must have been if the rest of the structure was in keeping with the grand and picturesque hoary ruin left. This Collegiate church was erected in 1662 as expressed by an inscription engraved on a stone iixed in the western corner of the building:

Vrgini Magna Matri,
Civias Macaensis Lubens,
Posuit an. 1662. (4)

The Church was consecrated to ‘Nossa Senhora da Madre de Deos’ like its predecessor (built circa 1565)… (…)
This splendid facade is nearly intact though slightly touched by the demolishing hand of time, and this though hundreds of storms and typhoons must have assailed it from every quarter of the compass during nearly three centuries and three quarters. The site of the church, only some walls being left to mark its position, has been used as a cemetery, though unused for some time now. A long night of steps leads up to it; this flight contains 130 steps of granite of a width of from 60 to 80 feet. This church was formerly the Cathedral; standing thus on a height under the walls of the Monte Fort it must have been even a more conspicusous land mark than the present Cathedral.
There are stories current of subterranean passages leading from St. Paul to Green Island which was formerly owned by the Jesuits.
In 1838 the side walls, though of great thickness, were considered unsafe and were cut down to a height of 22 feet; the facade, which is the most striking object in the view of Macao from the harbour, was left standing. This church took 8 years to build (1594-1602) … (…)
It appears that the church of St. Paul itself was entirely built by Portuguese and Japanese, the latter probably being converts exiled on account of their profession of Roman Catholicism. Chinese are not mentioned, as at that date in Macao’s history the Chinese were not employed by the Portuguese and were only permitted to sell provisions during the day in Macao and having to leave the City at night.
Vaults credited with containing treasure (for the Jesuits had gathered much wealth together and were forced to leave Macao with nothing but their breviaries) are, it is stated, known to be under the long flight of stone steps in front of the facade. And one writer affirms that not only subterranean passages lead under water a considerable distance to Green Island or Priests Island, but also up to the Guia Fort. (5)

Serões 1902 Ruínas S. Paulo

Revista “Serões”, 1902

(1) Ver: Álbum de Desenhos a Lápis Sobre Macau e Ilhas do Atlântico e Índico – 50 desenhos.
http://purl.pt/index/porCulture/aut/EN/933589_P6.html 
(2) Ver
https://nenotavaiconta.wordpress.com/2014/01/24/leitura-macau-cidade-do-nome-de-deus-na-china-nao-ha-outra-mais-leal/
(3) “27-01-1835 – A bela Igreja de S. Paulo, de que hoje só resta a arruinada frontaria, foi destruída por um violento incêndio, na noite de 26 para 27. Erigida entre 1594 – 1602, pelos padres da Companhia de Jesus …..….”
SILVA, Beatriz Basto da – Cronologia da História de Macau Século XIX, Volume 3. Direcção dos Serviços de Educação e Juventude, Macau, 1995, 467 p (ISBN 972-8091-10-9).
(4) Engano do autor. O início da construção da Igreja da Madre de Deus, conforme a inscrição exterior na base de uma das paredes laterais, logo a seguir à fachada, do lado do Evangelho,  é 1602.
SILVA, Beatriz Basto da – Cronologia da História de Macau Séculos XVI-XVII, Volume 1. Direcção dos Serviços de Educação e Juventude, 2.ª Edição, Macau, 1997198 p (ISBN 972-8091-08-7)

Segundo Padre Teixeira a inscrição é a seguinte:

PLACA Ruínas S. Paulo“VIRGINI MAGNAE MATRI
CIVITAS MACAENSIS LIBENS
POSVIT AN. 1602

i.e. To the Great Virgin Mother the city of Macau willingly placed this in the year 1602 “
TEIXEIRA, Fr. Manuel – The Japanese in Macau. Instituto Cultural de Macau, 1990, 62 p. , ISBN 972-35-0095-7.
(5) BALL, J. Dyer – Macao: The Holy City: The Gem of the Orient Earth. The China Baptist Publication Society. Canton, 1905, 83 p. Pode consultar este livro em: http://www.archive.org/stream/macaoholycitygem00ballrich/macaoholycitygem00ballrich_djvu.txt